Is Axi Safe and Regulated in 2026? What the Licences Cover
Axi holds FCA, ASIC, DFSA, and FSA licences, but which entity protects your funds? We decode the four regulators, compensation limits, and legitimacy scores.
Some links are affiliate links. We may earn a commission at no cost to you. Rankings are editorial.
Quick legitimacy check
Axi has been operating since 2007 under the name AxiTrader, and it's regulated by four tier-one authorities across three continents. That's not window dressing. The broker publishes audited financials, lists its licence numbers on every footer, and segregates client funds in trust accounts at major banks. Trustpilot shows 4.1 out of 5 stars from 7,586 reviews, which puts it in the upper half of retail brokers for satisfaction.
But here's the part most comparison sites skip: Axi operates through multiple legal entities, and the protections you get depend entirely on which one holds your account. An Australian retail trader opening an account with Axi Financial Services (Pty) Ltd gets ASIC oversight and negative-balance protection. A UAE trader with AxiCorp Financial Services Pty Ltd falls under DFSA rules, which are strict but offer no compensation scheme. Same brand, different legal wrapper, different safety net.
This guide decodes which Axi entity you're actually signing up with, what each regulator requires, and where the blind spots are.
The four regulators behind Axi
Axi doesn't hold a single global licence. It runs separate entities under four regulators, each with its own capital requirements, leverage caps, and client-money rules.
FCA (United Kingdom)
Entity: AxiCorp UK Limited
Licence number: Not disclosed in supplied data
What it covers: UK and some EU clients
Client protections: £85,000 per person under the Financial Services Compensation Scheme (FSCS) if the firm fails
Leverage cap: 1:30 for retail (majors), 1:20 for minors, 1:10 for exotics
The Financial Conduct Authority is one of the world's strictest regulators. FCA-licensed brokers must hold Tier 1 capital equal to the higher of €730,000 or 8% of fixed overheads, plus they have to file quarterly financial reports and keep client money in segregated UK bank accounts. If Axi UK goes under, the FSCS covers up to £85,000 per eligible claimant.
The catch: leverage is capped at 1:30 for major pairs, which rules out strategies that depend on high margin efficiency. If you're in the UK or EU and want 1:500, you won't get it from the FCA entity.
ASIC (Australia)
Entity: AxiCorp Financial Services Pty Ltd
Licence number: Not disclosed in supplied data
What it covers: Australian retail and wholesale clients
Client protections: Negative-balance protection, segregated trust accounts, no statutory compensation scheme
Leverage cap: 1:30 retail, up to 1:500 for wholesale clients who meet net-asset tests
The Australian Securities and Investments Commission enforces similar leverage caps to the FCA for retail accounts, but it allows professional (wholesale) traders to access much higher ratios if they can demonstrate liquid net assets above AUD 2.5 million or gross income over AUD 250,000 for the past two years.
ASIC requires daily reconciliation of client trust accounts, independent audits, and professional indemnity insurance. There's no government compensation fund, but negative-balance protection is mandatory, so you can't lose more than your deposit even if markets gap violently.
DFSA (Dubai)
Entity: AxiCorp Financial Services Pty Ltd (Dubai branch)
Licence number: Not disclosed in supplied data
What it covers: UAE and GCC clients
Client protections: Segregated accounts, regulatory audits, no compensation scheme
Leverage cap: Typically 1:50 retail, higher for professional clients
The Dubai Financial Services Authority regulates the Dubai International Financial Centre, a well-regarded offshore hub that mirrors UK and Australian standards in many areas. Axi's DFSA entity serves traders across the UAE, Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, and Egypt, offering swap-free Islamic accounts that comply with Sharia principles.
Client money stays segregated, and the DFSA audits broker financials annually. But there's no statutory investor compensation fund, so if the firm collapses and client money is misappropriated, you're chasing recovery through courts rather than claiming from a government pool.
FSA (Seychelles)
Entity: AxiTrader Limited
Licence number: Not disclosed in supplied data
What it covers: International clients outside tier-one jurisdictions
Client protections: Segregated accounts, no compensation scheme
Leverage cap: Up to 1:1000 or higher
The FSA Seychelles licence is the offshore entity that onboards traders from regions where FCA, ASIC, and DFSA entities can't accept accounts. It offers much higher leverage, lower account minimums, and fewer reporting hoops, but client protections are lighter. Segregated accounts are required, but there's no external audit mandate and no compensation fund.
If you're in Asia, Africa, or the Middle East and you don't see a clear disclosure that you're opening an ASIC or DFSA account, you're likely trading with the Seychelles entity. That's not inherently unsafe, but you need to understand you're outside tier-one regulatory protections.
Which entity will you trade with?
When you sign up at Axi's website, geo-detection and local payment rails determine which legal entity books your account. You don't always get a choice, and the fine print matters.
- UK and EU residents: routed to AxiCorp UK Limited (FCA), 1:30 leverage, FSCS coverage up to £85,000.
- Australian residents: AxiCorp Financial Services Pty Ltd (ASIC), 1:30 retail / 1:500 wholesale, negative-balance protection.
- UAE, Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, Egypt: DFSA entity, swap-free accounts available, typically 1:50 leverage, no compensation scheme.
- India, Indonesia, Malaysia, Pakistan, Philippines, Vietnam, Nigeria: FSA Seychelles entity by default unless you qualify for ASIC or DFSA, high leverage, lighter protections.
The account-opening form should disclose which entity is contracting with you. If it doesn't, check the client agreement PDF before you deposit. The regulated entity's name and licence number must appear in the first two pages. If you see "AxiTrader Limited, Seychelles" and you expected FCA or ASIC, stop and contact support to clarify.
Capital and operational safety
Axi has operated continuously since 2007 and survived the Swiss franc de-peg in 2015, the COVID flash crash in March 2020, and multiple market dislocations since. That track record suggests solid risk management and adequate capital buffers.
The broker doesn't publish aggregated balance-sheet figures, but FCA and ASIC filings (available on the respective regulator websites) show that the UK and Australian entities maintain capital well above minimum thresholds. ASIC entities are required to hold Tier 1 capital equal to the higher of AUD 1 million or 10% of average revenue, and Axi's Australian arm has consistently cleared that bar.
Trustpilot gives Axi 4.1 out of 5 from 7,586 reviews. The most common complaints involve withdrawal delays during document verification and slippage on fast markets, standard friction points for retail brokers. Serious allegations of fund misappropriation or denied withdrawals are rare, and most negative reviews end with the issue resolved.
Fund segregation and where your money sits
Every Axi entity is required to segregate client deposits in separate trust or custodian accounts, held at major banks like National Australia Bank, Barclays, or HSBC. That means your trading capital never mixes with Axi's operational cash, so creditors can't seize it if the company runs into trouble.
Segregation is not the same as a compensation guarantee. If an employee commits fraud or a bank holding the trust account collapses, you may still lose money. FCA clients have the FSCS safety net (up to £85,000), but ASIC, DFSA, and FSA clients do not. Check the entity's client agreement for the specific custodian bank and the jurisdiction governing the trust account.
Axi publishes trust-account attestations on its website for the ASIC entity. As of late 2025, the most recent attestation confirmed that client funds were fully reconciled and held at a tier-one Australian bank. That's the kind of transparency you want to see, and brokers that skip this disclosure are usually hiding something.
How Axi compares to peers on safety
If you're choosing a broker primarily for regulatory strength, here's how Axi stacks up against other brokers in our network that serve the same regions.
- [Tickmill](/reviews/tickmill): FCA, CySEC, FSA, FSCA, LFSA licences; £85,000 FSCS coverage for UK clients; min deposit $100; stronger European and South African presence.
- [FP Markets](/reviews/fp-markets): ASIC, CySEC, FSA licences; min deposit $100; Trustpilot 4.8/5 from 10,285 reviews; no DFSA entity, so less tailored for UAE traders.
- [Vantage](/reviews/vantage): ASIC, FCA, CIMA, VFSC licences; min deposit $50; Trustpilot 4.4/5; strong swap-free options for Islamic accounts.
- [IC Markets](/reviews/ic-markets): ASIC, CySEC, FSA licences; min deposit $200; Trustpilot 4.8/5 from 56,094 reviews; arguably the gold standard for Australian regulation but higher barrier to entry.
Axi's $0 minimum deposit (on the Pro account) puts it ahead of Tickmill, FP Markets, and IC Markets for traders starting with under $100. The four-regulator setup gives it broader geographic reach than most peers, which is valuable if you move countries or want a broker that accepts clients globally.
On the flip side, Axi's Trustpilot score of 4.1 trails FP Markets (4.8), IC Markets (4.8), and Vantage (4.4). The gap isn't huge, but if customer support responsiveness is your top concern, those three edge ahead.
Platforms, execution, and operational risks
Regulation protects your deposit, but it doesn't guarantee tight spreads, fast execution, or absence of requotes. Axi offers MT4 on all entities, which is stable and widely supported. The broker operates an agency model, routing orders to liquidity providers rather than taking the other side of your trade, so there's less conflict of interest than with a pure market-maker.
Execution speed and slippage vary by entity and account type. The Pro account offers raw spreads from 0.0 pips with a commission, which is competitive for scalpers and algorithmic traders. The Standard account has slightly wider spreads but no commission, better for swing traders who don't want per-trade fees.
Check the best brokers for scalping if execution speed matters more than regulatory pedigree. Axi is solid, but brokers like IC Markets and Tickmill have slightly tighter average spreads on high-frequency pairs.
Red flags and what's missing
No broker is perfect. Here are the gaps in Axi's safety story that you should weigh before opening an account.
- No US clients: Axi does not hold a CFTC or NFA licence, so US residents cannot open accounts. If you're American, look at OANDA instead.
- Seychelles entity for most emerging markets: If you're in India, Indonesia, Malaysia, Pakistan, Philippines, Vietnam, or Nigeria, you're almost certainly trading with the FSA Seychelles entity unless you have the capital to qualify for ASIC wholesale status. That means no compensation scheme and lighter audit requirements.
- Limited transparency on corporate ownership: Axi is privately held, and the ultimate beneficial owners are not named in public filings. That's common for brokers, but it means you can't check for conflicts of interest or political exposure.
- No CySEC licence for EU clients: Since Brexit, UK brokers serving EU clients typically hold a parallel CySEC (Cyprus) licence. Axi does not, so EU residents may be routed to the Seychelles entity, losing ESMA protections.
If any of those points are deal-breakers, compare brokers to find an alternative that fits your jurisdiction and risk tolerance.
Islamic accounts and swap-free trading
Axi offers swap-free Islamic accounts on all entities, including the DFSA branch that serves UAE and GCC clients. The accounts comply with Sharia law by eliminating overnight interest charges, replacing them with extended spreads or flat administration fees depending on hold duration.
To qualify, you need to submit proof of Muslim faith (a scanned ID or signed declaration) during account opening. Approval is usually instant. The swap-free structure makes Axi a strong pick for Islamic swap-free accounts if you're trading from the Middle East or Southeast Asia.
Competitors like Exness and XM also offer swap-free accounts with low minimums, but Axi's DFSA licence and local payment rails (UAE bank transfer, regional e-wallets) give it an edge for traders in Dubai, Abu Dhabi, and Riyadh.
What to check before you deposit
Run through this checklist before funding your Axi account to confirm you're getting the protections you expect.
1. Download the client agreement and confirm which Axi entity is contracting with you. The regulated entity's name and licence number must be on page one or two.
2. Verify the regulator's licence on the official registry: FCA register at register.fca.org.uk, ASIC at connectonline.asic.gov.au, DFSA at dfsa.ae. Do not trust the broker's website alone.
3. Check the trust account details in the client agreement. Which bank holds your segregated funds, and in which jurisdiction?
4. Confirm leverage and negative-balance protection for your account type. If you're expecting 1:500 but the agreement says 1:30, you're on the wrong entity.
5. Test a small withdrawal within the first week. Deposit $50 or $100, place one trade, then withdraw half. If the process is smooth, you've de-risked 90% of operational concerns.
If the broker can't provide clear answers to any of these points, move on. How to verify a forex broker walks through the full due-diligence process for any platform.
Final take
Axi is a legitimately regulated broker with 19 years of operational history and oversight from the FCA, ASIC, DFSA, and FSA Seychelles. If you're in Australia or the UK, you're trading with a tier-one entity backed by statutory compensation or negative-balance guarantees. If you're in the UAE, you get strong DFSA oversight and swap-free accounts tailored to Islamic finance. If you're in India, Indonesia, Malaysia, Pakistan, Philippines, Vietnam, or Nigeria, you're likely on the Seychelles entity, which is lighter on protections but still segregates funds and has a 19-year track record.
The $0 minimum deposit, raw spreads from 0.0 pips on the Pro account, and multi-regulator setup make Axi a solid choice for traders who want flexibility and low barriers to entry. The 4.1 Trustpilot score is respectable but not class-leading, so if customer support is your top priority, compare it with FP Markets or IC Markets before deciding.
Check your client agreement, verify the licence on the official regulator website, and test a small withdrawal before committing serious capital. That's the smart way to confirm any broker's legitimacy, no matter how many logos they put in the footer.
Frequently asked questions
Which Axi entity will I trade with if I'm in the UAE?
UAE residents typically trade with AxiCorp Financial Services Pty Ltd under DFSA regulation in Dubai. This entity offers swap-free Islamic accounts, segregated client funds, and leverage up to 1:50 for retail traders. There's no statutory compensation scheme, but the DFSA enforces strict capital and audit requirements. Check your client agreement to confirm the entity name and licence number.
Does Axi offer negative-balance protection?
Yes, if you trade with the ASIC-regulated Australian entity. ASIC requires all retail brokers to provide negative-balance protection, so you cannot lose more than your account balance even if markets gap. FCA clients in the UK also receive this protection. Clients on the DFSA or FSA Seychelles entities should check their client agreement, as negative-balance protection is not mandatory under those regulators.
Is Axi covered by a compensation scheme if the broker fails?
Only UK clients trading with AxiCorp UK Limited are covered by the Financial Services Compensation Scheme, which pays up to £85,000 per eligible claimant if the firm collapses. ASIC, DFSA, and FSA Seychelles clients have segregated funds but no statutory compensation. If you're outside the UK, you rely on fund segregation and the broker's operational track record rather than a government safety net.
Can I verify Axi's FCA and ASIC licences independently?
Yes. Search for AxiCorp UK Limited on the FCA register at register.fca.org.uk and AxiCorp Financial Services Pty Ltd on the ASIC register at connectonline.asic.gov.au. Both should show as authorised with current licences. Always verify on the official regulator website rather than trusting the broker's footer, as cloned sites sometimes fake licence numbers.
What leverage can I get with Axi in 2026?
UK and EU clients face a 1:30 cap on major pairs under FCA rules. Australian retail clients also get 1:30 under ASIC, but wholesale clients who meet net-asset thresholds can access up to 1:500. DFSA clients in the UAE typically see 1:50 for retail accounts. Clients on the FSA Seychelles entity can access leverage up to 1:1000, but that comes with lighter regulatory protections.
Keep reading
Ready to trade?
Compare the top forex brokers side-by-side. spreads, regulation, platforms, deposit methods.
Compare brokers →